Zeynep Celik-Butler

University of Texas, Arlington



Zeynep Çelik-Butler is a Distinguished University Professor in the Electrical Engineering Department, University of Texas, Arlington. She received dual B.S. degrees in electrical engineering and physics from Bogaziçi University, Istanbul, Turkey, the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Rochester. She was an IBM Pre-doctoral Fellow from 1983 to 1984, and an Eastman Kodak Pre-doctoral Fellow from 1985 to 1987. She joined the Department of Electrical Engineering at Southern Methodist University in 1987 as an Assistant Professor; was tenured and promoted to Associate Professor in 1993. Dr. Çelik-Butler was the holder of J. Lindsay Embrey Trustee Assistant Professorship from 1990 to 1993. She served as the Assistant Dean of Graduate Studies and Research from 1996 to 1999. She moved to University of Texas at Arlington in 2002.

Prof. Çelik-Butler has received several awards including the Semiconductor Research Corporation Inventor Recognition Award (2010), the University of Texas at Arlington Outstanding Research Achievement Award (2006), IEEE-Dallas Section Electron Devices Society (EDS) Outstanding Service Awards (1995, 1997), IEEE-EDS Service Recognition Certificates (multiple years for multiple positions), IEEE-EDS Distinguished Lecturer Appreciation Awards (2006, 2016), Outstanding Electrical Engineering Graduate Faculty Awards (1996, 1997, 2001), and SMU-Sigma Xi Research Award (1997).

.Her research interests include microelectromechanical systems, multi-functional reconfigurable sensors, nano energy harvesters, flexible electronics, noise and reliability in nanoelectronic devices. She has ten awarded and one pending patents, eight book chapters, and over 220 journal and conference publications in these fields.

She currently serves in the editorial boards of IEEE Sensors Journal, Elsevier Sensors and Actuators: A, and Journal of Nanoelectronics and Optoelectronics. Dr. Çelik-Butler is a Fellow of IEEE, and life-member of Eta Kappa Nu.